Thursday, 20 January 2011

The Hook And Sling Presents All Good Things Come In 3’s

A huge thank you to all those made it down to The Brown Sugar Bar on Saturday, It was great to see some familiar faces returning for our little funk and soul shindigg, and as always a great time was had by all!

As promised we’re back with another joint collaboration from all three of us, recorded straight from our play out boxes from Saturday. They say all good thing’s come in 3’s and today’s mix is no exception as we’ve included some stone cold rarities as well as some up front breaks and beats for your listening pleasure within this one. Enjoy and we’ll be back here later in the week with more of the ‘good stuff’ for you.

Track List (Click on individual track names for label scans)

Mr Double Down

Wayne Carter – Mad Mouth Woman – Springfield Revue Aestuarium Recordings

The Progressors – The Brothers Under Pressure – People Records

The Popcorn King

The Dynamics – Funkey Key – Black Gold Records

Herbie Mann – Hijack – Atlantic Records

Hoppin’ John

Ron Moody & The Centaurs – The New Breed – Colpar

Ted Taylor – Daddy’s Baby – Okeh

Mr Double Down

Bobo Mr. Soul – H.L.I.C. – Atlantic

Booker T. & The M.G.’s – Slim Jenkin’s Place – Stax Records

The Popcorn King

Benny Gordon – Give A Damn Pt.2 – Phil~L.A. Of Soul Records

James Brown – Talkin’ Loud And Saying Nothin’ Pt 1 – King (Alternative take)

Hoppin’ John

Skull Snaps – It’s A New Day – GSF Records

David Robinson – “I’m A Carpenter” – Tramp Records

No comments: